• @Jeeve65@ttrpg.network
    link
    fedilink
    567 months ago

    persons. The spell allows polygamy. Also, no gender restrictions. You can marry all of your party into one big family, RAW. You may need to check the local laws, though.

    By the way, the spell does not allow for divorce - it’s strictly “till death do us part”.

    • Kichae
      link
      fedilink
      English
      87 months ago

      By the way, the spell does not allow for divorce - it’s strictly “till death do us part”.

      Which has… consequences

      • @Jeeve65@ttrpg.network
        link
        fedilink
        147 months ago

        No, the spell is only cast once, for all partners at the same time. “A creature can benefit from this rite again only if widowed”.

        • Iron Lynx
          link
          fedilink
          4
          edit-2
          7 months ago

          Does it stack though? If n people cast ceremony on a party, does that mean they get +2n AC?

          EDIT: I read the rules. And completely read over the latter part of your comment. “A creature can benefit from this rite again only if widowed.” 😢

          • @EvolvedTurtle@lemmy.world
            link
            fedilink
            26 months ago

            Ok that brings the questions Can you marry, kill, and merry again for +4 ac

            I think you should be able too because that’s like a literal human sacrifice for +4 ac for just 7 days lol

          • threelonmusketeers
            link
            fedilink
            English
            37 months ago

            +2n AC

            Even if the rules worked that way, it would technically be +2(n-1) AC, since you don’t get any bonus from yourself.

            • Iron Lynx
              link
              fedilink
              16 months ago

              Only if the casters are part of the group that’s being repeatedly wed. If the casters are all external, it’s +2n AC.

    • @Archpawn@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      57 months ago

      It says you can’t benefit from it again unless widowed. Once someone is they can benefit from it as often as they want.

      Also, you could still marry someone else and have them benefit from it again.

    • @acockworkorange@mander.xyz
      link
      fedilink
      77 months ago

      Wouldn’t the entire policule need to be close for them to get the bonus then? That doesn’t sound like the best tactical strategy.

      • @Archpawn@lemmy.world
        link
        fedilink
        17 months ago

        It would generally be better to put them in pair-wise marriages, but when there’s a kaiju on the loose, you can’t wait multiple hours to cast it multiple times.

      • Adlach
        link
        fedilink
        English
        37 months ago

        You know what it doesn’t offer? Dex save bonuses. 🔥

    • @MouseKeyboard@ttrpg.network
      link
      fedilink
      27 months ago

      I once played a series of all-combat one shots, in which we could use the previous day to precast buffs. Every session we used that day to cast ceremony to make the party a polycule, until the DM banned it.